Heart Chakra and Essential Oils

The heart chakra


Symptoms of Imbalance

  • Unable to Give or Receive Unconditional Love
  • Selfish
  • Jealous
  • Hateful
  • Grief Stricken
  • Excessive Loneliness
  • Depression

The heart chakra – the wellspring of love, warmth, compassion, and joy is located in the center of the chest at the heart level.

Anahata moves love through your life.

It is the center of your deep bonds with other beings, your sense of caring and compassion, your feelings of self-love, altruism, generosity, kindness, and respect.

Anahata is an integrating and unifying chakra – bringing to wholeness – as such, it is your healing center. Indeed, most spiritual traditions recognize love as the ultimate healing force.

The energy of anahata allows us to recognize that we are part of something larger, that we are interconnected within an intricate web of relationships extending through life and the universe.

Anahata allows us to recognize and get in touch with the sacred and fundamental truth that runs through all of life and connects everything together.

The “way of the heart” or the “path of the heart” is living your life from this energy center of love.

It means living your life with loving kindness and compassion towards others. It means that your heart is open to others and you inspire kindness and compassion in others. You create safe and supportive environment.

Others can feel your love and warmth. They feel loved and accepted unconditionally. People feel at peace around you, as there is no judgment coming from you.

When anahata is open and energy is flowing freely, you are not only loving to others, you are also loving to your self. You know when you need to say no and when you need care and self-nurturing.

All of the seven chakras are important and while I cannot say that the heart chakra is the most important, I do want to say that it is very important.

Most of the world’s spiritual traditions recognize love as the unifying force, the energy that is the most fundamental part of the universe, and of ourselves.

To open to love is to reach to the deepest places and connect with our true essence, our spirit, and our soul.

Signs of Balance

  • Able to Express Love
  • Giving
  • Compassionate
  • Joyful
  • Content


  • Green/Pink


The spiritual influence of Rose has been known for thousands of years. Rose has the highest spiritual frequency of all essential oils. It opens the heart chakra, allowing one to feel unconditional love.

It is also one of the most expensive oils – in order to produce 1kg of pure essential rose oil, 4000 kg of rose petals are needed.

The oil has a beautiful floral scent and its influence is calming and elevating to the mind, creating a sense of well-being.

Rose awakens our capacity for self-love, self-compassion, self-nurturing when we are dealing with emotional wounds.


This green and spicy oil has been used during times of loss of a loved one. Marjoram helps us connect with self-nurturing and can help us through the grieving process to let go and accept our loss.

Marjoram essential oil has also been known for its benefits on the respiratory system, in particular in the cases of asthma and bronchitis.

The oil is warming, relaxing, and harmonizing. When one experiences loneliness, isolation, this oil may help restore warmth in the heart and the capacity for self-nurturing and self-compassion.


Sweet, refreshing, and citrusy, Lemon is beneficial on the vascular system, balancing of blood pressure, soothing weak or broken capillaries, and lymphatic system detoxification.

The oil lightens confusion, brings clarity, and uplifts the spirit.

Lemon is particularly helpful in opening of the heart chakra to self-love and self-nurturing when one looses herself in a relationship.


Eucalyptus is an oil symbolizing openness and freedom. It is stimulating, decongestive, and soothing on the Lungs and the chest. It opens the chest area and allows flow of energy through the heart chakra.

Eucalyptus is often used in respiratory ailments, bronchitis and colds. On the psychological level, Eucalyptus is a central nervous system sedative, it calms and uplifts the spirit.


Warm, rich, floral, and sweet in its aroma, Jasmine has been a symbol of hope, happiness, and love in many spiritual traditions.

Also known as the Queen of the Night, Jasmine is an uplifting essential oil. It balances the emotional system, soothes anxiety, and helps with apathy and depression.

Jasmine works on the heart chakra especially when it comes to relationships and relational wounds. Its uplifting and joyous fragrance helps to open up the heart chakra to more love and compassion.


Chamomile is a soothing and calming essential oil. Its fresh, sweet, and fruity scent can calm crying babies and soothe the nervous system of an anxious person.

Because it is calmin and relaxing, Chamomile reduces emotional charge during periods of emotional upheaval and helps to reduce depression.

It is also used to calm and clear the mind and open up the heart.